What is the Action Committee for Transit?

The Action Committee for Transit has a vision of better communities and better transit. We believe fundamental changes are needed in transportation and land use policies to give the people of Montgomery County and Maryland the quality of life we deserve.

Our broad membership and active volunteers give us the ability to make the voice of transit riders — and those who would like to ride transit if it were more available — heard in Rockville, Annapolis, and Washington.  At the same time, we continue to educate the public about the needs of transit.  Our organization is democratically governed and we are sustained financially by our members.

ACT was organized in 1986 by Harry Sanders and Ross Capon and incorporated in 2000 as a non-stock corporation with a board of directors elected by the members. ACT has no stockholders, and the corporation's charter requires any assets to be donated to a 501(c)(3) charity if the corporation is dissolved. ACT is not eligible for 501(c)(3) tax status because of our advocacy work. ACT is probably eligible for 501(c)(4) status, but has not applied for it because, for a local grass-roots organization, the legal and accounting costs involved far exceed the benefits.

2023 Officers

President - Amy Frieder (Rockville)
Vice President - Miriam Schoenbaum (Boyds)
Vice President - Erik Herron (Germantown)
Vice President - Sean Robertson (Kensington) 
Treasurer - Nick Brand (Chevy Chase)
Secretary - Matthew Sadler (Silver Spring)
Board Member - Chris Farrell (Silver Spring)
Board Member - Sunil Dasgupta (Aspen Hill)

Ex officio board members:
Ralph Bennett (Silver Spring), Purple Line Now chair
Ben Ross (Bethesda), Maryland Transit Opportunities Coalition chair
Paul Goldman (Silver Spring), outgoing president
Sebastian Smoot (Burtonsville), East County
Quon Kwan (Rockville), Editor Transit Times

Kathy Jentz, Administrator [email protected]
Lev Boonin, Organizer [email protected]

Contact Us

PO BOX 7074

[email protected]